“My home is not a place, it is people”

As 2019 ends and a decade closes its doors, now seems like a good time to ponder those words from Lois McMaster Bujold.

I’ve grown accustom to reciting my own quote, “Home is wherever our suitcases are.” Is that true? It’s been six years since Frank and I sold our home and hit the road. We’ve visited and lived (albeit temporarily) in some fantastic places, places where we could happily settle and feel “at home.” We’ve met some truly wonderful people, eaten well and had some incredible experiences.

But we always come home to Wisconsin. Even here, we stay in different places. The place, we’ve discovered, is irrelevant. For us, being home means being surrounded by our people. This last stretch had its challenges but time spent with family and friends made it more than worthwhile.

Frank and I love and look forward to continuing our adventures. I can’t say we won’t have a house someplace else at some point, but good, bad or freezing cold, Wisconsin will always be home.

One thought on ““My home is not a place, it is people”

  1. When I think of home, I think of WI, too – and you and Frank! Next time we get together I want to know who all these darling people are in your life! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment